DjangoBooks.com

efficient way to practice reststroke

edited July 2011 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 24
I just started practicing this technique, and I play the guitars for 6 years now, but it makes me feel like I just picked up the guitar, so it's frustrating me a bit, and makes me doubt my ability on the guitar in general.
I have to admit, I never really used a pick before, but I am quite content with my ability in various fingerpicking techniques, and using a soft pick und playing alternate picking isn't really a big obstacle for me, though I never really practiced it.
Maybe I did the mistake of practicing songs I can already play without a pick, or with just alternate picking with rest stroke, but it only works so painfully slowly that I feel set back 5 or 6 years.

What should I do? Just practice scales and arpeggios with rest stroke until it becomes natural and then attempt to play the songs I already using rest stroke?

Comments

• steven_eiresteven_eire Wicklow✭✭✭✭ Dupont MD50
    everyone goes through that stage. it is frustrating but if you follow the exercises in Michael's book with a metronome and make time for regular practice you will get it. learn the minor blues solo in the book and pay attention to the picking suggestions. pretty soon the basics of it are all 2nd nature.
    Which one of Michael's books?
  • steven_eiresteven_eire Wicklow✭✭✭✭ Dupont MD50
    I meant Gypsy picking. it has some great exercises for developing this technique.
  • ElliotElliot Madison, WisconsinNew
    Horsey:

Listen, whenever you have trouble learning something you need to break it down to the simplest phrase you can achieve. This is the first thing I tried, a waltz fragment so it goes [b]ONE two three ONE two three, ONE [/b]for the accent starting at the first beat ending at the last, each string starting on a downstroke (but then feels weird at first to do the next accented beat on an upstroke!):

-------------------------7--8
    -------------7--8--10-------