DjangoBooks.com

Need Help With a Practice Regimen

periclimenespericlimenes Santa Ana, CANew
edited January 2009 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 140
Hi Everyone,

This holiday season, my family and friends caught wind of my interest in GJ and I am now in possession of the following:

Gitane GJ-15
Gypsy Rhythm
Gypsy Picking
Pearl Django Play-Along
A few gigantic GJ picks (a moustache 4mm and a Wegen)

I have been having a blast working on la pompe and learning a few songs, but I now have the "good problem" of being a little overwhelmed with what to do now. I am setting aside about an hour a day to practice, and I was hoping some of you could recommend the best way to use all of the resources and help me figure out how to structure my practice time.

A few more pieces of info:

I have been playing (non-GJ) guitar for 15 years or so
A have a pretty solid theory background (I was a music theory minor in college)

And finally, I live in Orange County, CA if anyone knows a GJ teacher in the area (I have asked about this before, and nobody seems to know one, but this year's DFLA is in Orange County, so I am hoping there is someone...)

Any advice you have about what to work on and how to break up my practice time would be appreciated!

Thanks,

peri

Comments

• RicardoRicardo Cornwall UKNew
    Hi, i'm no expert but I would advise mastering the rhythm first. Try playing along with backing tracks and cd's until the new chord shapes feel natural and you have a grasp of the various effects which you can apply. When it's feeling right and sounds good, tuck into the Gypsy picking book. I remember I used to spend half an hour on an exercise or two and then half an hour putting what you learned into practice over a backing track. You need to work in a musical context in order to maintain interest. it's taken me three years to get to a fairly comfortable level using this approach.Good luck.
    Not now dear, I have a terrible Djangover.