DjangoBooks.com

A weird combination to record and play by yourself

naguiynaguiy New
edited November 2007 in Recording Posts: 20
I have been playing the guitar for several years and have switched recently from electric to Selmer-style. I play by myself and am getting frustrated to not have a second rhythm guitar to play with. I then had an idea and wanted to know if anybody thinks it should work or miserably fail: I found the following Boss RC 2 Loop Station:
http://www.bossus.com/index.asp?pg=1&tmp=158
I was thinking that I could use the pickup from my gypsy jazz guitar, record a rhythm part and then pay/improvise/practice over it. It is way easier and cheaper than a multi-track recorder. It is not confusing and I do not see why it should not work.
Is this the best alternative, or I should go for a Zoom H2??

Please let me know if it is viable, I would really appreciate as I am not familiar at all with any recording technique, especially when it comes to gypsy jazz guitar..Thanks.

Comments

The Boss RC2 is a cool little unit, but you've gotta add the extra switching pedal to get full use of it. The RC20XL is really the way to go ... I've had one for a while and it's a blast. I don't use it as much as I did when I first got it, but it's pretty simple to lay down a rhythm track, loop, and go crazy. I used to use it at gigs, but I haven't done so in a while. To be honest, looping gets old kinda quick imo.

Of course, there are already a couple of online sites that have free backing tracks (usually in mp3 form) and someone recently posted some files for Band In A Box, which is a versatile program that many jazzers use to hone their chops.

While I don't have the Zoom H2, I do have the H4 and it's easily the best gear purchase I've made in the past ten years. Pretty easy to use, even for a recording noob like me.

Here's a track I made with the H4 ...
    http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default ... ID=5706202