DjangoBooks.com

Cigano GJ 10 vs Eastman DM1 Classic

Hey guys,

I own a Cigano GJ 10 and have the opportunity to purchase an Eastman DM1 Classic. Is it worth the money and will I notice an improvement in sound and playability?

Greetings from Germany :)

Comments

• vanmalmsteenvanmalmsteen Diamond Springs ,CANew Latch Drom F, Eastman DM2v, Altamira m30d , Altimira Mod M
    edited February 2022 Posts: 337

Yes….. both in volume and tone

don’t take it from me though, look at some of the demo videos here on Django books

MostiBuco
  • MostiMosti New

I will do that. Thanks a lot! :)

• jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F

I also own a Cigano GJ10 and would make the change assuming the Eastman is a nice guitar at a reasonable price. If possible, keep the Cigano for back up, travel, beach, friends, etc. It shouldn't diminish in value provided it is in good shape.

Mosti
  • MostiMosti New

I've been playing the guitar for two months now and I'm a bit disappointed. The neck is thicker than the Cigano and the high notes don't pop. They don't have that punch. Overall the sound is better and more open but the high notes sound a bit thin. The quality of the guitar is very good and the look is great. But does that justify 1100€ if you already own a Cigano GJ 10? I'm actually considering refunding the guitar. But is there an alternative in this price category? Shoult I really refunding the guitar? The thick neck and the thin high notes really bother me. but apart from that it's a great guitar. Overall better then the Cigano. But does that justify 1100€? I really don't know. I need your help guys!

• juandererjuanderer New ALD Original, Manouche Latcho Drom Djangology Koa, Caro y Topete AR 740 O

I've only ever played one Eastman GJ (can't remember which model) guitar and although I appreciated the quality, I think Altamiras are more bang for your buck sound/tonewise.