DjangoBooks.com

Struggling to stay interested in electric guitar! Any advice

fourowlsfourowls Brisbane, Queensland, AustraliaNew Petrarca Grande Bouche
Hi all
Excuse the whinging title, but I have a beautiful Fender 2 by 10 tube amp and a gorgeous G & L Tele but since focusing more on GJazz I have just lost interest! Does anyone have recommendation for how I can still maintain interest in the electric side of things without Gypsy Jazz taking over my life? I just find that GJ is a style that requires devotion and dedication, and being a PhD/Doctoral student, I am a pretty focused person who likes to try and master one thing (I focus on Yang Taichi, Japanese language {as I lived there and have been married to a Japanese for nearly 20 years} and Gypsy Jazz!
What do you others do? Are you monogamous and only play GJ or what other styles (in particular Jazz?) do you play? I guess if I get rid of it (tube amps that are a bit older are hard to sell also) I am worried about regret but I pick up the tele, and I am like,,"What do I play...what's the point", but I pick up a SelMac guitar and I have heaps of stuff to do, so many songs to learn, right hand technique, appeggios and the beautiful list goes on...
Did I mention I think too much!! Gypsy Jazz has spoiled me! Are there great GJ type of songs for electric! Thanks for helping, I was gettting a bit down (in a quiet manly Scottish way..lol)
OR CONVERSELY SELL UP AND GET A D HOLE TO MATCH MY OVAL HOLE DELL'ARTE...YEAH!! ..sigh there I go again
Andy!
Richard V Peninger

Comments

• fourowlsfourowls Brisbane, Queensland, AustraliaNew Petrarca Grande Bouche
    stuart wrote: »