DjangoBooks.com

French virtuosos - how they became this way?

jimbo978jimbo978 BelgiumNew
in Welcome Posts: 5
Greeting to you all,
And please excuse me for the long message!

I'm 34 and I'm seeking a career as a professional guitar player. I've been playing quite seriously for about almost 20 years , especially jazz music. I have a pretty good musical ear, good knowledge of theory, and a decent technique. I want to talk about the latter:
I've been playing gypsy jazz for about 8 years, on and off. a few of these years I devoted enteirly for this genere. Sometimes for hours a day. I was very strict about the correct gypsy techinque. As I said, I'm by no means a beginner, but by now I would have expect to reach a higher level (again, only talking about the technique). I can play pretty good up to 240 bpm (eigth notes). From 240-let's say 270 bpm, it's relatively decent, but not 100% clean. Between 270-300bpm it's very very difficult for me to play. I can sometimes pull something off - but more times than not, I would fail to play at these tempos.
Now, of course you can just say that it's really not that bad, and also that it's not neccesary to play extermly fast in order to be a good musican. But the thing is, I agree 100% - but this is the kind of guitar player I want to be. My biggest insperations are Bireli lagrene, Adrien moignard, Sebastien giniaux, Gwen cahue, etc.. (you got the point). These guys can play fluently at about 300 bpm eigth notes, or 200bpm triplet notes (it's the same), and can reach up to about 350 bpm.
I'm practicing for hours a day, and my progress is VERY slow.