DjangoBooks.com

Django and Bach

ShemiShemi Cardiff✭✭✭
in Welcome Posts: 170
Hi all,

I'd like to start by saying hello to you all as a new member. I'm very new to gypsy jazz am hooked! I'm based in Wales so if there are any posters local to me please say hello... I would love to find some local people to jam with. :-)

Although being new to this genre, I have studied music for a long time and studied cello originally, but now my time is mainly spent with the guitar. One of the things that struck me when I started looking into this style was how a lot of the ways in which Django created his music resonates with Bach's music, which being a cellist I know well. The abundance of arpeggios with chromatic approach and enclosures, even the typical ornamentation like mordents, etc, reminded me strongly of the Cello Suites.

Is it known how much of an influence Bach might have had on Django? I believe I have heard he was a fan of his Organ music.

On a side note, Paul Tortelier was a young cellist in Paris at the time playing in cafes and such and I wonder if the two ever came in contact.

Anyway... Sorry for the ramble. :-)

Comments

• Al WatskyAl Watsky New JerseyVirtuoso
    I think Django had "big ears". Sure he listened seriously to a whole lot of music. If you know the classical guitar literature you can hear elements of that in his playing as well. If you hear Bach and you have a mind like Django's I think its safe to say that it will become a part of that well spring.
  • ShemiShemi Cardiff✭✭✭
    Hi Stuart, thanks for the welcome.

Indeed, I think it is safe to say Bach was a master of improvisation. He was known as the greatest improvisor on the organ in all of Europe at the time, and a story goes that a famous French organist came to compete against him (which I think was a common thing amongst organists back then) and on hearing Bach warming up, promptly left town!