DjangoBooks.com

Coming very late to this party... I guess?

kevorkazitokevorkazito Winnipeg Manitoba Canada✭✭
Just reading posts here now, I never knew of the Givone Method before.

Of the four books available here at Djangobooks.com

http://shoppingcart.djangobooks.com/index.php?sid=13115b22yig70y9ol16t7ndj0c1x3278&app=ecom&ns=prodsearchp&ecom--prodsearch--string=Givone&SUBMIT=Go

is this book:

Daniel Givone La Guitare Manouche

http://shoppingcart.djangobooks.com/Item/daniel_givone_guitare_manouche

The first one to get.

What about the others? I'm still a beginner but quite intrigued by this resource.

Comments

• beenawhilebeenawhile ✭✭
    That makes two of us.

I am sort of the fence as the to Givone Method book and am leaning a bit toward his 25 pieces book.

I have used all sorts of GJ books over the years, but especially like the Nolan licks books. Seems that some feel that Nolan's playing or teaching shouldn't be confused with 'real' gypsy playing, but I have found licks to be excellent exercises in themselves. Very helpful for strengthening fingers and developing my ear and most of his ideas can easily be the basis for your own improvising. I am hoping that one or more of the Givone books would do the same, but perhaps with a new flavor.

I might add, that my overall goal is not so much to become a competent GJ player, but to use this genre and its many great instructional books to aid in becoming a better guitar player in general. I admire a purist approach, but am very much in the hybrid camp for my own playing. That said, I seem to get sucked further and further into conforming - this style does that for you!
  • anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01
    I would go with la guitare la manouche, and learn the 5 forms over minor chords, major 6/9, dom7th, and dom7ths in a minor key.

They're great note maps based around chord shapes. Good stuff.
  • Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!