DjangoBooks.com

Only Gypsy Swing?

Comments

• ShemiShemi Cardiff✭✭✭
    I studied a degree in cello at a conservatoire and had initially intended to be a concert cellist or orchestral musician but became disillusioned with the whole classical music scene. After a stint as a classroom teacher of music I moved to London to work as a session musician and recorded and performed in lots of different band and genres.

As a guitarist, I started playing rock and metal when I was a teenager and played a lot of Satch and Vai type stuff but later found fingerstyle blues. This, as well as fingerstyle stuff by the likes of Emmanuel, Atkins and more modern players like McKee and Dufour, became a focus for some years. Recently I started gypsy swing and am enjoying the challenge.

The hardest thing I have found is getting a good swing feel. This week I feel I've turned a corner with that but so much of what I have played over the years was so straight that I would naturally fall back into that feel. I've been working a lot at improvising over changes in my head and practicing tapping my foot on 2 and 4 at the same time. This, and listening to swing music a lot, is getting me there.

I have found focusing on arpeggios has really opened me up as a player over all. My improv before was mainly scale based thinking and having never studied jazz at all I only loosly used chord tones as a guide. I stuck on a blues backing track the other day to test out some new effects software and I noticed that when jamming I was much more focused on the chord tones instead of just spanking the old major/minor pentatonic.
  • DragonPLDragonPL Maryland✭✭ Dupont MD 50-XL (Favino), Michael Dunn Stardust, Castelluccia Tears, Yunzhi gypsy jazz guitar, Gitane DG-320, DG-250M and DG-250