DjangoBooks.com

Upstroke

mmaddoxmmaddox New
edited February 2008 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 2
I have been a fingerstyle guitar player for the last 40 years and I'm trying to learn plectrum style. I have a Gitane, I've got the Gypsy Picking book, and I have the Wegens. I've been learning the swing chord forms for the last couple of years and I have been learning some basic Django repertoire, mostly fingerstlye arrangements, but I am taking the plunge and learning proper picking. I am a classical player and understand rest strokes, but the angle and motion of upstrokes has me puzzled. If you angle the pick to strike upstrokes at a 45 degree angle away from the sound hole pointing down, it seems this would be a lot of wrist action, especially in tremelo. I am a newbie and this might seem uninformed, but that is my question. Thanks.

Comments

• mmaddoxmmaddox New
    Well Michael it doesn’t appear that anyone was interested in answering your question!
    juandererwimBucoBillDaCostaWilliamsBonesAndyW
  • juandererjuanderer New ALD Original, Manouche Latcho Drom Djangology Koa, Caro y Topete AR 740 O
    mmaddox wrote: »
    Well Michael it doesn’t appear that anyone was interested in answering your question!
    Give it time.
    BucoBillDaCostaWilliamsBonesAndyW
  • AndrewUlleAndrewUlle Cleveland, OH✭✭✭ Cigano GJ-15
    I think the forum for upstrokes is on the second floor - try posting there.

Seriously, that's strange that no one responded. Usually there's no shortage of opinions on this site - this one must have slipped through the cracks.
    AndyW
  • vanmalmsteenvanmalmsteen Diamond Springs ,CANew Latch Drom F, Eastman DM2v, Altamira m30d , Altimira Mod M
    What you describe is proper, the upstroke with the pic angling away from the sound hole . To me it’s a big part of getting the sound, and it does require A lot of wrist
  • edited April 2019 Posts: 4,730