DjangoBooks.com

transcribing - the real way to learn?

PetrovPetrov ✭✭
edited September 2018 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 125
I've been doing GJ for 4 years now. Within that, I had to stop due to tendinitis in both forearms for about 4 months, shoulder issues due to RSI working in a office etc...It's been a journey and I've learned a lot.

I started out like probably most these days. I looked at youtube, books, online courses, you name it. Always looking for all the tabs I can get. Some said "transcribe!", I said why? Tabs are easy, these people just haven't embraced the internet age. Why do all that hard work?

I actually thought this..Boy was I wrong.

I learned many licks by tabs. It was easy, it sounded great... I quickly realised...well after 3 or so years ;) , that no matter what I did, I couldn't internalise all these licks. The biggest thing was that all my solos sounded the same. The same old licks over and over. It became a mind game of what lick I should insert where. Never really free to just play. Solos sounded disconnected. It became evident that this was not the way to go about it.

I should of listened and transcribed like they were saying.

I started transcribing in Spring. Learning GJ phrases completely by ear, then learning it on the guitar. It was painful at the start, but the more I do, the faster and more efficient I become.

It has done wonders for my ear, technique but the biggest thing, my improvisation. I can now understand why people talk about licks/phrases more as if they are part of a language. Most importantly, I've learned to internalise in my own way, patterns, ideas and phrases. Playing these phrase in all keys as well.

I wish I would have started a long time ago. I'm not saying youtube, books, tabs etc shouldn't be used at all. I'm sure there are many good reasons, but if you haven't tried transcribing give it a shot!

What do you guys think?

Jim Kaznosky

Comments

• PapsPierPapsPier ✭✭
    Your post reflects totally my experience.