DjangoBooks.com

Am I missing something

Hey everybody! New guy to the forums here.

So I'm pretty new to the amp game (I'm admittedly extremely ignorant when it comes to equipment as a result of my strong penchant for acoustic music/instruments). But I'm trying to prepare myself for *fingers crossed* gigging soon, so I should be prepared.

Just picked up this guy https://schertler.com/en_US/shop/pickups/basik-set at Dr. Chang's recommendation, and a Fishman Loudbox Mini for my Paris Swing 42.

Now I know there's a thousand setup options and configurations and pros and cons and "you should use a mic instead", but for just this pickup, should I have a pre-amp between it and the amp?

Thanks for helping out the ill-informed.

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    @acalvane92 Hi Anthony....the Basik is an electrostatic pickup so it needs 10V power to work. Even if you wanted to use a preamp, it would have to be one that supplied 10V power which very few actually do. So for the most part, you'd have to use either the power module that it comes with or one of the Schertler preamps like the Stat Pre or Yellow which provide 10V power. The Yellow is nice as it has amazing eq and tone shaping features and is especially useful if you're having feedback problem. The Yellow (along with the David and Unico amps) have the Reson control which allows you to get about 20% more volume before feedback. I should also mention that you'll get far better results using the Basik with a Schertler amp. All the Schertler amps provide the 10V power you'll need for the Basik and also have all the advanced tone shaping and feedback resistant features of the Yellow preamp. Furthermore, they just sound way better than the Fishman amps which are constructed from inferior components which yield a much harsher, muddier tone that is very prone to feedback and other sonic issues.

Thanks!

Michael
  • You should get a AKG Pro 70 or a Bartlett handmade microphone.