DjangoBooks.com

identify a French mystery guitar

2»

Comments

• AndyWAndyW Glasgow Scotland UK✭✭✭ Clarinets & Saxes- Selmer, Conn, Buescher, Leblanc et.al. // Guitars: Gerome, Caponnetto, Napoli, Musicalia, Bucolo, Sanchez et. al.

There's another French mystery guitar for sale at Palm guitars in Netherlands, and I have some spare gig cash burning a GJ guitar shaped hole in my pocket.....

I'd appreciate any ideas as to what it might be...
    They say French, I look at it and think "Sicily", but I'm no expert.
    Any ideas ?? http://www.palmguitars.com/item.html#1727
  • ChrisMartinChrisMartin Shellharbour NSW Australia✭✭ Di Mauro x2, Petrarca, Genovesi, Burns, Kremona Zornitsa & Paul Beuscher resonator.
    Definitely Italian. I have seen similar before usually attributed to Carmelo Catania. Michael had one similar here that was branded as a Sonora.
    Check this link;
    http://www.djangobooks.com/Item/sonora-roundhole
    Lets not open that can of worms again, Sonora was a retail brand (NOT a luthier) and certainly had some made by Busato, some by Catania, and probably Jacobacci and who knows who else. It is known that Catania, Di Mauro (Antoine) and Jacobacci were close friends and probably co-operated occasionally, and the shape of that one has some similarities to Di Mauro but it is certainly NOT out of the same mould as the regular Di Mauros.
    Some 'experts' have claimed the Sonoras with a 13 and a half fret join to the body were made by Busato, but the more common 12th fret models could have been made by anyone. I would suggest the same with this one. The fancy pickguard and the tailpiece I have seen before and certainly point to Italian origins.
    AndyWBillDaCostaWilliams
  • ChrisMartinChrisMartin Shellharbour NSW Australia✭✭ Di Mauro x2, Petrarca, Genovesi, Burns, Kremona Zornitsa & Paul Beuscher resonator.
    edited June 2018 Posts: 959