DjangoBooks.com

I need help?

eclecticeclectic IowaNew
edited December 2006 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 2
Hello everyone,
Just joined this site!
For years I have tried to increase the speed on my picking (right)hand
with no success. It is hard to play 16th notes at 120 bpm. The funny thing, I can pick extremely fast with my left hand. I've tried to copy every movement of my left hand to my right hand - to no avail. BTW, I play very relaxed, no tension. Somehow I feel as if I am accessing the wrong muscle group to do this correctly. I just ordered the Gypsy picking book hoping the rest stroke will help. My question is: has anyone else had a problem with picking speed and by switching to the GP method it has made a major difference in your quickness? If anyone has any ideas that would help, I would greatly appreciate it. I have been working for countless hours for well over 10 years trying to conquer this. One more thing, I am left handed but I have seen all kinds of fast pickers that are lefty's.
Thanks for any input,
Chris

Comments

• MarioMario Berlin, GermanyNew
    Hi eclectic. I can't really help you out on this, as I have just started picking it the gypsy way myself, but here is an interesting article you might want to read. It's all about taking it easy, in way...

http://www.hotclub.co.uk/html/lindford.html

Keep on to it!

Mario
  • nutloafnutloaf WalesNew
    Have a look at my topic- speed and the rest stroke, look at my last entry.I hope this helps[/code][/list][/quote]
    Don't stare at the stinking finger, or you will miss all the heavenly glory.
  • aa New York City✭✭✭✭
    fast twitch muscle fiber is bullshit.
    Www.alexsimonmusic.com
    Learn how to play Gypsy guitar:
    http://alexsimonmusic.com/learn-gypsy-jazz-guitar/
  • Josh GibsonJosh Gibson FLNew
    a wrote:

Do you have any evidence to support your claim? I'd like to know more.
  • BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso
    Eclectic,