DjangoBooks.com

A breakthrough.

Comments

Cool, my countryman. I watched him once in Chicago, he's a wonderful player.

Regarding your tensed wrist, that should be straightforward; relax. Grip the pick only enough so it doesn't fly out of your hand. Focus to relax the wrist. At the faster tempo, sacrifice the pick attack and volume for a relaxed hand, at least during practice and focus on your wrist being relaxed rather than loud and strong attack. Once that relaxed feeling sinks in, you can add the attack which if you're also focusing practicing the rest stroke will be easy.
    Using a mirror for this help a lot.
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    I wonder how many true Gypsy guitarists use or used a metronome. It would be interesting to really know. My guess is many didn't even have one at their disposal but I have no knowledge of any of this. What I would guess is proficiency in right hand picking patterns and techniques play and have played a huge roll in defining speed and style. Once one has mastered a certain picking pattern many left hand options become available.
    I'm not completely sold on metronome being indispensable in music practice. It's certainly helpful tool but it will not automatically break your growth as a musician if you're not using one. A lot depends on how well your internal music pulse is developed.
    Joscho said he never used a metronome but emphasized that he was very focused on his own internal beat when he practiced in the beginning.
    Also Adam Rafferty builds a case against it here:
    http://www.adamrafferty.com/2008/02/27/dont-use-a-metronome/
    If you haven't heard of him by the way, check him out, the guy is one of the best fingerstyle players alive today and has an incredible sense of groove.