DjangoBooks.com

Duved Dunayevsky: The 1930s Django sound

Comments

• JojoJojo London UK
    This is from Le Quecumbar site. He's doing a gig there on the 16th July " Duved Dunayevsky is an emerging artist whose “voice” is clearly his own, and yet strikingly reminiscent of Django Reinhardt’s. Born in Israel and largely self taught, Duved spent his teens playing jazz fusion with a special focus on the work of John Scofield. He knew of Bireli Lagrene back then, but only through Birel's work with Jaco Pastorius. After discovering Django’s music Duved dedicated himself completely to it. Along the way he has garnered a reputation for his remarkable ability to channel “that sound” loved by Django fans and sought by students of the style. In 2015 he received a visa of “Talent and Competence” from the French government and moved to Paris where he formed Duved‘s Hot Five, which captures the sound and feel of the original Quintette du Hot Club de France. Another project of his is Duved’s Pre-Bop Orchestre, a band of ten musicians playing original compositions influenced by swing and classical music"
    BucoJosechiky
  • ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    The videos are good and concise, love that...maybe the most important thing is not talked about. The landing points on the one chord. Often 6ths, 7ths and occasionally 9ths...roots, 5ths and 3rds like in traditional bop not so much.
    BucoPetrovJosechikyJim Kaznosky
    You know Will @Lango-Django when you mentioned his good knowledge of theory, I heard something interesting this year from both Duved and Emanuel Kassimo. They would explain the concepts that you can use to put more interest in your playing. Then someone would ask where does that come from theory wise.