DjangoBooks.com

Learning gypsy violin?

Franz MoralesFranz Morales Philippines✭✭
in Violin Posts: 85
Hi, just want to ask if learning the violin is really that difficult? I've been playing gypsy guitar for a couple of years now, and have been playing small gigs every now and then. I've managed to recruit other musicians to the gypsy style, but we are having difficulty finding a violinist and bassist. That said, I decided to learn to play violin, however, I don't know how to read music. Will that be a problem? Is there a 'gypsy approach' to learning violin as it is with the guitar? Basically, learning arpeggios, licks etc? I don't plan to be paganini-esque, just play melodies and maybe simple improv. Just to give our group a different tone when playing. As it stands, we are 3 guitarists and a trombone player :D

Comments

• MandobartMandobart ✭✭ Mandolin, Octave Mandolin, Mandocello, Fiddles
    Most violinists learn as children, so how hard can that be? I was 10 when I took it up (pretty old by today's standards). Don't shy from learning to read music - it will open worlds of music to you. Again, children as young as 3 can do this so you can too. Bowing is way different from picking. Fifths tuning was invented by God himself. It is intuitive and symmetric. Intonation without frets is also a challenge.

I'm a decent classical violinist, and a decent bluegrass fiddler. Not a very good gypsy violinist yet. The good news is you can rent a decent fiddle just about anywhere to try it out for a while to see if it sticks. I really recommend getting a teacher, even if they don't know Stephane Grappeli from pasta. There is a lot to learn just to start sounding bad.
  • spatzospatzo Virtuoso
    Hi Franz! if you want to try to be "Him" you can check this site:

francoisrequet.altervista.org/musique/partitions/grappelli/?doing_wp_cron=1457953974.6136369705200195312500

Best
  • MacKeaganMacKeagan