DjangoBooks.com

Gypsy jazz chord voicings

geraldogeraldo Sydney 1978 Ibanez 175, Maton EA80C, 1982 Strat, '63 reissue Tele
edited November 2015 in Gypsy Rhythm Posts: 2
Hi - I'm have some jazz experience but I'm new to gypsy jazz. I'm having a bit of difficulty finding out what chord voicings to use. Is there a simple chart or guide that I can use that shows gypsy jazz chord voicings for each chord (versus standard jazz voicings)?
Also, for a given piece (e.g. All of Me) is it okay to use any of the gypsy jazz voicings for each chord at any point in the piece, or does gypsy jazz tradition tend to dictate that very specific voicings/changes are used? I realise that's a bit of a clumsy question - I'm just trying to get a sense of how specific gypsy jazz players are in terms of their expectations from accompanists.

Comments

• geraldogeraldo Sydney 1978 Ibanez 175, Maton EA80C, 1982 Strat, '63 reissue Tele
    Okay - I just found another discussion that already answers this and provides many resources:
    http://www.djangobooks.com/forum/discussion/8318/gypsy-jazz-chord-resources
    BlueSkies
  • BlueSkiesBlueSkies Chico, SF, Davis, CA Stringphonic Basic
    edited November 2015 Posts: 11
    When I transitioned from jazz to gypsy jazz, the music store I worked at had this book in stock

http://www.djangobooks.com/Item/wremble

which has a chart very similar to the one you're asking for. It helped me out a lot.

Also the chords used and explained in this video are pretty much industry standard.

I got a lot out of these two resources, so hopefully you can too. The book costs money, and the youtube video is free, so I know where I would start. Haha

As for the second part of your question, I believe you can pretty much use any gypsy jazz voicing for any chord throughout the song. Although! Keep in mind some lead players like to hear certain things from the rhythm, so that is one reason to learn multiple voicings for each chord.