DjangoBooks.com

10th fret inlay mark

Im very distracted by the 10th fret mark on gypsy guitars, i have 15 years of playing experience on electric guitars and playing a gypsy guitar with a 10th fret mark throws me off.
I am thinking to order these inlay decals and place the mark on 9th fret, and somehow hide the 10th fret mark (maybe put a black decal on top of it).

anyone is dealing with the same problem?

Comments

• ScoredogScoredog Santa Barbara, Ca✭✭✭✭
    I originally found it a problem but am now used to it. Changing the dot is an easy job (my old Manouche had it's dot changed to the 9th fret).
  • Kevin FurnissKevin Furniss France✭✭ AJL 503 XO
    I use black marker to cover existing mark and some tipex type white pen for the new one.................... I keep having to re-do them every few weeks but im hoping the bit of time where I see two marker I can transition !
    the problem I had doing that was the dot on the fretboard was still there. I guess you could cover that up too.
  • anthon_74anthon_74 Marin county, CA✭✭✭✭ Alta Mira M 01
    I felt that way in the beginning too. I got used to it after a year or so of playing, and now I wish I could change the fret dot on my non gypsy guitars to the 10th fret.
    To me, having the 10th fret dot is better for 2 reasons - One, it marks the D on the 6th string, and two - It marks the G on the 5th string. The 9th fret dot marks the flat/sharp on both strings.
    MattHenry
  • Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!