DjangoBooks.com

Will changing string gauges affect my setup?

BarkonatorBarkonator Medina, OH✭✭ Mazaud - Vieux Paris
in Welcome Posts: 43
Hi Everyone,

I am still pretty new to the genre and the forum so I apologize if this question has already been answered, I couldn't find what I was looking for after a brief search.

When I got my guitar from Michael it was strung with 11's. I have been experimenting with strings lately and so far I have only been using 11's. I was wondering if switching from 11's to 10's would have an impact on my guitar's setup.

Thanks in advance for any help or opinions offered. I look forward to meeting some of you at Django in June this year!!

Cheers,
Joe

Comments

• CampusfiveCampusfive Los Angeles, CA✭✭✭✭
    Theoretically, lighter strings have less tension, and the neck should pull back accordingly, which would lower the overall action slightly.

At worst, it won't sound or feel good, and when put back the old strings, it will probably go back to where it was. No irreparable harm.

At best, you could luck out, and any change in the neck will be unnoticeable, but it might even be complimentary.

Strings are cheap to experiment with, and going up or down 1 gauge is a small change and has no real risk. Go for it.
    For a while I was going back and forth between .010s and .011s and while the feel and the tone of the guitar was changing, the action wouldn't change a whole lot. In theory, with .010s I think the action will lower a bit, but in my case it wasn't anything where say I'd get a fret buzz where I previously didn't have one and such.
    Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
  • Al WatskyAl Watsky New JerseyVirtuoso
    It most cases the difference between the 10 set and the 11 set can be as little as .015 of an inch. A 64th or less. So if your guitar has an adjustable rod you can compensate by releasing tension on the rod if the action lowers too much.