DjangoBooks.com

First GJ Guitar (I know..."not this again...")

Greetings! Please excuse the monotony of this topic, I understand there are already scores of first posts much like this one. I just need some solid advice and there is no one locally or on any forum I'm on that has even heard of Selmer style guitars...

I've just started getting into GJ, and have been practicing rabidly for about a month. I've been playing guitar for over 10 years, but it feels like I'm completely starting from scratch - having to correct years of bad habits and re learn a new picking technique has been both extremely challenging and rewarding. I feel I'm getting to the point where my flat top acoustics and thinline hollowbodies are actually becoming detrimental to the learning process.

So, I'm in need of an actually suitable instrument for GJ. This site seems to be the best compilation of info (in english at least), so I figured it would be best to come here for advice.

I'm looking for a petite bouche to start with, and am mostly considering two options:

Cigano GJ10 - Heard mostly glowing reviews, with only occasional quips that
even with upgrades it will only ever be a $400 guitar, which
brings me to:

Altamira M01 - Apparently the best bang for the buck under $2000. I was
originally dead-set on a Cigano with the $200 upgrade
package and HSC. However, when I saw what the end price was
with shipping to Canada I realized that for about $130 bucks
more I could get an Altamira in a HSC shipped to my door
within Canada.

If I got dinged on taxes and duty on the Cigano, it could potentially end up being more expensive than an Altamira...

So, for those in the know, who've played or handled both of these guitars my burning question of the day is this:

Would you choose a Cigano with everything upgraded and a perfect setup or an out-of-the-box/decently set-up Altamira?

If you were me, what would you spend the money on?

Thanks!

DF

Comments