DjangoBooks.com

Jazz archtop guitar to play gipsy jazz/manouche?

Hi all, my first post.
I have been trying to teach myself Manouche/GJ style for about a year, after buying Romane's very good book. It's not an easy task, even though I have been playing guitar (as an amateur) for 30 years. The different picking/strumming/fingering/soloing involved with Manouche style means re-learning things.

Someone locally was selling a Dupont MD-50 which I felt may further motivate me to learn and play manouche style guitar. Unfortunately, he seems to have changed his mind and decided to keep it, and I didn't have a chance to try it out.

I presently own several fine guitars, acoustic and electric. What I had been using to learn Manouche was a very good Ibanez archtop jazz guitar (like the Ibanez George Benson model). I have noticed in looking at youtube that some great Manouche players favour using an archtop jazz guitar as opposed to the more traditional Selmer or Macaffari acoustic guitar.

Are there any advantages you can suggest that would make me want to invest in a Selmer type guitar to learn Manouche? As I said, I already own several very nice guitars, and hesitate on investing in another one, but if it will motivate me to learn more Manouche, and give me much greater pleasure in playing that style of music, then I may give it a try.

I assume a Manouche guitar (Selmer for ex) would not be suitable to play other styles of music?

Looking forward to your thoughts.
--Robert

Comments

• pinkgarypinkgary ✭✭✭
    I think you already know the answer to this...

"but if it will motivate me to learn more Manouche, and give me much greater pleasure in playing that style of music,"

If you already own several nice guitars, you own several for a reason. That reason being they all do ONE job exceedingly well, hence needing more than one guitar. The more expensive guitars get the more of a niche they fulfil, the more you need. Oh, it's terrible!!!