DjangoBooks.com

Home Recording

steteaksteteak Kern County, California Paris Swing
in Recording Posts: 50
Hello everybody, greetings from California. I recently received a microphone, which plugs into my iPad. I have no experience with recording, and I want to. So, I have messed around with Garage Band and recording. The results are not bad, but if I were to take it to the next level, what equipment will I need? Any input is always accepted.

-Steve

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Not sure if you can do much more with an iPad. If you have a desktop computer, you could buy an MBox which has some decent mic pre amps and comes with Pro Tools software. You can make studio quality recordings with that setup.
  • PassacagliaPassacaglia Madison, WI✭✭✭✭
    I actually use the Focusrite Itrack Solo, which apparently is optimally set up for working with the iPad. I use it through my PC, second hard drive, as I don't have an iPad. I recently got an AT4040 large condenser mic to work with it, and I'm blown away by the sound. Focusrite seems to have a pretty solid reputation for their interfaces, at least as I've gleaned from gearhead sites.
    -Paul

pas encore, j'erre toujours.
  • steteaksteteak Kern County, California Paris Swing
    @Passacaglia Verrry interesting....Potential...Hmmm...Possibilities are endless.
  • jonpowljonpowl Hercules, CA✭✭✭ Dupont MD-100, Altamira M01F
    Occasionally, I use Audacity which is open source recording and editing software. I believe it available for Mac. You can record multiple tracks as well as slow down in pitch and much more.
  • JonJon melbourne, australiaProdigy Dupont MD50B, '79 Favino