DjangoBooks.com

Etiquette on a G-string...

I did a quick search but couldn't find out whether this is an old chestnut or not...

I'm a complete beginner where G-J is concerned so excuse my possibly quite naiive question...

What, at a guess, is the choice of most of the players here and elsewhere as regards a wound/plain G-string? Is there even some sort of etiquette which suggests only wound is 'right' or does 'anything go'?

I've been using a wound G on my '40s Antoine di Mauro for the last year or so but, at the suggestion of a REAL G-J player, tried a plain G at the last change and find it to be much more useable and can get closer to the sound I want.

In general I'd suspect 'Play whatever works for you' but I'm mildly curious.

What say you good people here?

Philip.

Comments

• Its not polite to show your G String if there are children present. OTT, pretty much what works for you.

My Dunn Ultrafox balances nicely along and across with a standard set of Argie 11's fwiw.

I am not sure what a real gJ player is. Btw. Are there fake ones or??
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    The only person I;ve ever known who used an unwound G string was a former player in my band, a mostly electric guitarist who couldn't handle a wound G. He kept a stash of unwound strings on hand and would give me his wound G every time he put a new set on. He also refused to learn gypsy picking, afraid it might mess him up in his other work.

There are fake GJ players, people who talk about Django in their promotional material but don't play anything even close.
    Benny

"It's a great feeling to be dealing with material which is better than yourself, that you know you can never live up to."
    -- Orson Welles
  • tommydavytommydavy ✭✭
    Please air on the side of caution when playing on the G string.......sorry, its a Baaaaach joke.