DjangoBooks.com

Entry level GJ guitar? Newbie Q.

kevorkazitokevorkazito Winnipeg Manitoba Canada✭✭
I was just wondering if there is such a thing as an entry level GJ guitar.

The ones that I can find seem to carry some hefty price tags.

As a beginner I'm not ready to spend big $$, yet I would like to have a guitar that will embody the spirit of the GJ tone and style.

Currently, I am using a Joe Pass Emperor II.

Also, could I just put GJ strings on my acoustic guitar and get the proper vibe and timbre?

Comments

• hanear21hanear21
    There's a lot of talk about the Cigano GJ-10 guitar being an excellent value for the price. You can get it from this website for $330. Do a forum search for that and you'll find a lot of information about them.

Here's one positive review: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6764&p=35102&hilit=Cigano#p35102

It seems like they are great as long as you have a little work done on them, which you can do right when you order from this website :D
  • kevorkazitokevorkazito Winnipeg Manitoba Canada✭✭
    I read that post right after I placed my query.

What kind of work does it need? Like new tuning pegs?
  • hanear21hanear21
    I don't know exactly everything that is done but I think the major work includes leveling the frets and replacing the bridge since they often ship with really high/low actions and have some buzzing problems, this would cost between $100 - 200.

That said, I've heard people say it was great right out of the box.
  • klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    If you can afford a little more, the Altamira M01 is a great starting guitar, with very authentic sound.
    Benny

"It's a great feeling to be dealing with material which is better than yourself, that you know you can never live up to."
    -- Orson Welles
  • Tele295Tele295 San Buenaventura (Latcho Drom), CA✭✭✭ Gitane DG300, D500