DjangoBooks.com

Rosenberg Academy

Comments

• noahfuturenoahfuture ✭✭✭
    Yeah... I've gotta say, I signed up for a month... and WOW! Gonna need more than a month for sure! Kind of an amazing resource!
    One writes music because winter is eternal and if one didn't, the wolves and the blizzards would be at one's throat all the sooner.
    -David Mitchell
  • It's a good one. I spent three months over there and I learned quite a bit.
  • KalebimaKalebima New
    Would this be a good site for an absolute beginner to gypsy jazz? I've played for about 3 years without much direction, mostly just noodling around on blues riffs, and have decided to go all out with Gypsy Jazz now that I'm in Montreal. I'll be starting lessons in about a month, but in the meantime I might want to pick up a month of Rosenberg Academy.

Also, how does it hold up to other online sites? Compares to Gypsy Jazz Academy or School, it seems to look the best and has the best price.
  • GJFANGJFAN New
    There is some really advanced stuff on the Rosenberg site but for me a newbie to the style there is certainly a lot at my level. Sections on Technique and Rhythm are great for any level and the tunes more of which are posted and transcribed every month all have great licks in them some advanced some easier but all great licks. There is also a section on improv. which was really helpful to me and a gypsy jazz fake book for chords to a lot of tunes. I would say it's a great course for any level and having tried some other online ones this one worked for me far better than anything else.
  • KalebimaKalebima New
    Thanks for the quick response! I'll probably go off your advice and give it a try sometime this week. Maybe I'll write up a quick review after a month, since there doesn't seem to be many floating around.