DjangoBooks.com

Hey! I'm new here, and... (thumb question)

janthorejanthore New
edited January 2011 in Welcome Posts: 6
I started playing GJ last october. I've never had technical difficulties past understanding what to do while improvising, but I noticed one kinda big problem for me when I accompany GJ.

My hands are wayyy small.

I'm a 25 years old dude, I've mainly played electric guitars for about 7 years previously, and even though the standard Selmer replica guitars have pretty slim necks, I can't seem to be able to create full chords and include the thumb. There's no way for me to reach the top three strings with my remaining fingers AND fret the top E string with my thumb, without getting inflamed wrist tendons (happened once already right before Christmas).

Now, I modified all the thumb chords I know to exclude the thumb root, and just play the remaining notes. It doesn't seem to remove much, at least. I've also been considering buying Gypsy Rhythm, but it seems to focus a lot on thumb chords.

I guess my main question is: Will not being able to play thumb chords remove a lot of the function Gypsy Rhythm has for my learning, and am I generally screwed when it comes to gypsy accompaniment in general due to my small hands?

Comments

• seeirwinseeirwin ✭✭✭ AJL J'attendrai | AJL Orchestra