DjangoBooks.com

A plethora of guitars

Hello, Newbie here, first post. (may be long)

As I have tried to make an informed educated decision regarding which guitar to purchase, it has become painfully apparent that I would have better luck herding cats.

It seems that somewhere in China there is an 8 million square foot facility that pretty much pumps out most of the guitars (not only gypsy jazz) on the market. For someone new to gypsy jazz style of playing, this is frustrating.

I recently bought a scratch 'n dent Cordoba O-5 from MF with which to get my feet wet. Very cheap, but it arrived with a pickup which I did not expect. That's the end of the good part of the story. What follows involves files and sandpaper and.....well, I'll stop there. This Spring, it will become firewood for camping.

However, as I search for a replacement, it seems these Asian-made guitars all look the same....including Arias, Ciganos, Gitanes, etc. It appears that at one table, Tchan is making a DG-255, and at the next table, Tchou is making an Aria or a Cordoba. Is there actually any difference other than the appointments and the head stock stencil?

No sellers ever seem to focus on the interior of the guitar in question, nor the grade of woods used. I would love to read about the differences in the bracing, finishes, etc. I could care less about fancy tuners, tail pieces and the lot. They can be upgraded. Add to this that most sellers provide a full frontal shot, and little more.

I believe most of us have limited physical access to this type of guitar (I certainly do not) as they just are not mainstream guitars, so I guess it boils down to this: What am I getting, really, from a DG-300 versus a Cigano GJ-10 or an Aria MM-20 for that matter.

My wife says I'm always clear as mud, but I hope I've made some sense here.

Whew,

Tom
Why do they call it a rest stroke......I get tired every time I try playing like that.

Comments