DjangoBooks.com

Lets write a fake book together

Chris PetersonChris Peterson Santa Monica, CANew
edited August 2013 in Repertoire Posts: 50
I have been working on my own gypsy jazz fake book recently (since Michael has made it clear that there is no real possibility of a published one) and I thought it would be a good idea to bring other people into the process. I used to be a professional copyist for the movie industry (worked for John Williams, Hans Zimmer, The Simpsons, etc) so I can work quickly. I have also created a nice template based about the latest edition of the Real Book. If I could get whoever else has Finale to input some songs (notes and chords) into my template, I could lay it out properly and post it here for everyone to use. If a few people had finale and were willing to share a little bit of the workload, we could get quite a fake book together very quickly. Even if you don't have finale, you could proofread and check for mistakes.

Below I have attached a pdf of one of the songs I have done so that you can see the layout that I used and know that I am serious about this. Michael, if you worry about having this material up here without copyrights, I'll take it down, no problem.

So, any takers?

Chris

[Edit: I've made this topic 'sticky'. Your ever lovin' moderator, Jack.]
Work on the <A HREF="http://www.petersonmusic.com/wiki">Gypsy Jazz Fake Book</A>.No finale experience necessary.

Comments

• JackJack western Massachusetts✭✭✭✭
    Chris,

Wonderful idea (assuming we don't get M' into hot water)! There have been some private versions of this done over the years, but I'd love to see a collaborative version available. Sadly, I don't know how to use Finale, but I'm happy to proofread. For instance, the first chord in the fifth bar of Swing 42 (and in the repeats) is commonly played as a Gm6 or Em7b5/Bb shape...

Can you tell us how people would input their files into your template?

best,
    Jack.