DjangoBooks.com

CAN THE WRIST BE BENT TOO MUCH..?

Dario NapoliDario Napoli Milano✭✭✭✭ Hahl Gitano Deluxe
edited February 2011 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 300
So I've been following the gipsy picking techniques for a while now and it's starting to feel natural but I've been told maybe the wrist is too bent when I play (right hand). I don't feel extra tension or anything but could I be moving less efficiently? Can the wrist be too bent?
Thanks in advance,
Dario

Comments

• klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    So I've been following the gipsy picking techniques for a while now and it's starting to feel natural but I've been told maybe the wrist is too bent when I play (right hand). I don't feel extra tension or anything but could I be moving less efficiently? Can the wrist be too bent?
    Thanks in advance,
    Dario
    I'm no expert by any means, but having worked diligently at this for the past couple of years (after a couple of years of laziness), I would guess that you can't bend your wrist too much as long as there's no discomfort. Take a look at videos of the top players - you'll see all sorts of wrist bends as well as finger positions. Tchavolo almost bends his fingers into a fist, Jimmy Rosenberg splays his fingers about as far as physically possible, and most people are somewhere in between, but all have pretty pronounced wrist bend. The bent wrist helps you to drive the pick more towards the top of the guitar than parallel to it on downstrokes and helps to get more power into the stroke. There are also some things that you just can't do (or do well) with a flat wrist.That's my $.02 (Canadian) worth.
    Benny

"It's a great feeling to be dealing with material which is better than yourself, that you know you can never live up to."
    -- Orson Welles
  • HotTinRoofHotTinRoof Florida✭✭✭