DjangoBooks.com

Rough price estimate for moving dots...

AdelaarvarenAdelaarvaren Ballard, WA, USANew
So I started playing guitar in Europe, and my main gypsy guitar and my baritone uke have the 10th fret dot, so I'm used to and comfortable with this. I've got an archtop that I love to play, but it has the 9th fret dot which sadly still messes me up a bit from time to time. Anyone have a rough idea how much it would cost to get this moved over a fret?

Comments

• ShawnShawn Boise, Idaho✭✭✭✭
    I can't answer your question, but I'm in the exact same boat. I have become so used to seeing the dot on the 10th, that it really bugs me to play my archtop now. I'd even be willing to do the modification myself, but I don't know of any good "do it yourself" resources on this particular problem.

If anyone has a website or something that would guide a person through the mod I would be most grateful.

I'm just happy to see I'm not the only person with this problem. :wink:
  • Michael BauerMichael Bauer Chicago, ILProdigy Selmers, Busatos and more…oh my!
    Rodrigo Shopis put the dots on one of the Busato's that Jacques Mazzolini sold. He charged $65 labor for all of them. One shouldn't be more than $15-20.
    I've never been a guitar player, but I've played one on stage.
  • klaatuklaatu Nova ScotiaProdigy Rodrigo Shopis D'Artagnan, 1950s Jacques Castelluccia
    ... but you also need to allow for the labor to fill in the hole where the old dot was removed. My luthier moved the 10th fret dot on my Gallato for CAN$40, including a very nice job of filling in the hole. He actually had to destroy the old dot because it was epoxied in place. You had to look at it in the right light to see where it had been. Some people just cover the old dot with black marker.