DjangoBooks.com

Changing the strings????

Hey folks,
A real newbie here...was wondering if anyone could give some advice on how to change the strings on a gypsy guitar/dupont (slotted headstock - not used to these types of tuners). Just restrung it, and now feel like the action is a bit higher than it was (not sure if it's the strings - argentine 11, or the way I wound them... doesn't look like the bridge moved) - I can almost fit a 3.5 wegen under the 12th fret wire/string at low e (seems too high). Anyhow, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

Comments

• SEVSEV OlympiaNew
    Hey folks,
    A real newbie here...was wondering if anyone could give some advice on how to change the strings on a gypsy guitar/dupont (slotted headstock - not used to these types of tuners). Just restrung it, and now feel like the action is a bit higher than it was (not sure if it's the strings - argentine 11, or the way I wound them... doesn't look like the bridge moved) - I can almost fit a 3.5 wegen under the 12th fret wire/string at low e (seems too high). Anyhow, any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!
  • crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
    Hi there, sorry to have to tell you this but 3.5mm is average for these guitars and some - including me - would say it's even a bit low with 4 to 5 mm being a decent height. I take it the guitar has a zero fret unless it's Nomade which don't have them.. It's the zero fret that sets the string height in conjunction with the bridge so it's unlikely that you've raised the action by winding the strings incorrectly. Do you know what strings were on it before you changed them ?

The only other thing that comes to mind is that possibly the neck has adjusted under the tension of new strings, a long shot but who knows. Maybe some other people can suggest what's gone awry.

Good luck
    always learning
  • Look down the neck and see how much curve is in the neck.