DjangoBooks.com

moveable diminished pattern

ThojoThojo San FranciscoNew
edited June 2009 in Gypsy Picking Posts: 10
I really love this pattern and I've been practicing it daily since I got the book a few months back. Somehow I'm just not progressing at it as much as I'd like. I'm having a hard time getting it to sound even and speeding up the pattern. Do you have any general advice about this lick (eg pick position, rigidity, etc)? Is there a common mistake that a lot of people make when first learning it?

Comments

• MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    I think the best thing you can do is just practice is slowly with a metronome and make sure it's very clean and accurate. Don't even worry about the left hand, just get the right hand trained perfectly.

good luck!

'm
  • djangologydjangology Portland, OregonModerator
    Some ideas (be careful taking me for absolute truth because there could be an error):

Dennis Chang mentions a bunch of ideas for it in his DVD #1 and DVD#3 but you should be able to figure it out on your own using the internet.

Take a look at this site for example:
    http://johncomino.tripod.com/dimpatt.htm

The far left pattern flows across 2-3 fingerboard positions which is very common. You should also learn diminished scales in a single position and with intervals.

The first chart is what I play over a root on 6th string like a A7 or C7 (1st note is A and 2nd note in arp is the red note). The 2nd chart is what I use from the root on the 5th string like an C7 or Eb7 (for Eb7 play root on 6th fret 6th string then 2nd note is C# on 5th string. the red note can be a leading tone(i explain below).