DjangoBooks.com

Fingerings.....?

FingersFingers Los Angeles, California...the ValleyNew
edited November 2008 in Licks and Patterns Posts: 52
Hi, not to rock the boat at all....but I have a technique based question. I've been playing a long time but I am new to GJ. I understand the need for discipline and respect as regards this style and how business is done traditionally having read a bunch of books. I get that GJ players are very faithful to the way it was done in Django's time and how they stay true to that mostly.

I have a question though about fingerings. I was looking at a Rhythm Futur transcription by a Pete Lewis and I noticed the one lick was TAB'd out using this fingering.....

Picture11-2.png

To me while I like aspects of it I also find the following fingering easier to grab and I am able to play it much faster...with much more ease.

Picture12-2.png

Is it okay to use whatever fingering falls naturally to me or should I be really observing tradition here. Also I don't know if Mr Lewis' take is accurate so I would love you guys to tell me which one you go for.

I must add that being new to this style I am not picking strict GJ style according to Michael's book. My style is different in that while I use rest strokes, I am in reverse to everything as I usually start on an upstroke. Also, while I am waiting for my GJ guitar to be delivered I am practicing on a double cutaway......... so maybe these notes are not easily reachable on a Selmac.

Anyway, I understand I might be missing a big chunk of the picture here.......hence this post to see what you experienced GJ players have to say about it.

Comments

• BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso
    That first version looks totally wrong to me...I'm pretty sure the second version is the one most people use, Stochelo does (0:59):
    BTW most people play it an octave lower for Rhythm futur.

It's actually a very common lick based on the E7 form.