DjangoBooks.com

Dark Eyes_Andre Krengel version

La GitaneLa Gitane Llanelli, UK✭✭✭
edited November 2008 in Repertoire Posts: 48
Hi all

I'm new to Gypsy Jazz and the fine art of transcribing, but one of the first gypsy jazz pieces I heard was Andre Krengel's version of Dark Eyes on YouTube, which completely blew me away:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJWFVqvAy9Q

I was inspired to attempt to transcribe it (took me the best part of a week!), but had a lot of fun and learned a lot of useful licks in the process.

I'm posting my effort here in pdf format out of respect for the artist - it is my interpretation, meant for private study purposes only.
I can also post it in Guitar Pro (.gp5) format if anyone would prefer.

It isn't perfect - please let me know if there are any errors or better fingerings.

That's the easy bit.
Now all I've got to do is practise for 20 years till I can play it up to speed !!! :D

Thanks Andre - hope to see you on your next tour....

Comments

• La GitaneLa Gitane Llanelli, UK✭✭✭
    Hi!

Some members have had problems with my other recent transcription posting ("Undecided") because the Adobe Acrobat printer defaults to "Do Not Embed Fonts" during creation of the .pdf file. This results in substitution of the fonts and complete gibberish on the host's computer. As the music notation fonts are already installed on my computer, I can't tell if the pdfs that I produce are legible or not on other computers; so I'm re-posting my "Dark Eyes" transcription with the fonts embedded this time!

Apologies for any frustration if you've been affected by this glitch.

Please let me know if the attached works or not, & I'll do my best to remedy any further problems if they still occur...

Latcho Drom
  • djangologydjangology Portland, OregonModerator
    I cant read it on my Windows XP computer. The text is all converted into punctuation marks.