DjangoBooks.com

Which Gitane or Cigano to get?

I am new to Gypsy Jazz. I plan on getting a Gitane or Cigano but I want one with a 1 3/4" nut width and a fairly thin neck thickness (front to back of neck). What is the nut width for a Cigano GJ-15? I like the looks of the D-shape hole but all the Gitane's seem to have a 1 7/8" nut. So which Gitane or Cigano have a 1 3/4" nut and slim neck thickness? My budget is $600 max. Thanks!

Comments

• FingersFingers Los Angeles, California...the ValleyNew
    I wish I could say for sure but my first GJ guitar is not yet in my hands. I ordered a Cigano GJ-10 and should get it soon, the next couple days.

I paid to have the full setup done and in talking with Michael and Josh about it and based on reports on the forum, this guitar gets high marks as an entry level GJ guitar under $1000 or so....good value for the money.

Josh also told me the neck is slim.

I would take a good look at it and perhaps consider it over the D-Hole model as in the GJ-10 the neck joins the body at the 14th fret unlike the 12th fret on the D-Hole.

This guitar with the ful setup and shipping will put you right close to your budget.

I will be happy to give you a report as soon as I get mine.

I am certain other Cigano GJ-10 owners who know way more than me will weigh in soon.
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    Only the Cigano GJ-15 and the Gitane D-500 have the 1 7/8" nut. All the other models have a 1 3/4" nut.

In the $600 price range I recommend the Cigano GJ-10....it's only $330 so you can spend a little more on setup work (new bridge, fret level, etc.) Usually that brings out the best in playability and tone.

good luck!

'm
  • renomanrenoman New
    So there's no D shaped hole guitar with the 1 3/4" nut? If not which oval shaped hole has the thinnest neck with a 1 3/4" nut? Also are there any other GJ guitar makers that make a D shaped hole with a 1 3/4" nut?
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator