DjangoBooks.com

What does a "Gypsy" set-up entail?

Hello All! This is my first post, so if there are any mistakes please bear with me.

I am an experienced guitarist and teacher and started playing this style about 3 years ago shortly after first picking up (and later buying) an Aria MM-10. When i got this guitar i thought that it was fantastic because it gave me that "Djangoish" sound. Last year however i learnt that this guitar is almost the bottom of the line (where i live GJ guitars are few and far between and until this time the Aria was the only one i had seen in real life). But i found and played a Gitane D-500 and fell in love all over again. Unfortunately i cant afford it at the moment but will hopefully be buying soonish. This bringing me to my question - Is there anything i can do to improve tone on my Aria, and what is done in a GJ set-up? (i do alot of service work myself, and there are no real people where i live to give me a professional GJ set up) how does it differ from standard set-ups. My intonation is fine but i am playing with Martin Finger style phosphor bronze (.12 - .52) strings.

(Until viewing this sight i had no idea that there where even GJ strings (i had assumed but as i've said there is nowhere to buy them here)

Comments

• Jeff MooreJeff Moore Minneapolis✭✭✭✭ Lebreton 2
    edited January 2008 Posts: 476
    See Below
    "We need a radical redistribution of wealth and power" MLK
  • Jeff MooreJeff Moore Minneapolis✭✭✭✭ Lebreton 2
    Jeff Moore wrote:
    Your post sounds so similiar to my own experience I thought I'd chime in. I've bought three GJ guitars ($1400. $325. and $340) and have very limited experience (hands on) with the great guitars of this genre. I play professionally but that doesn't take me very far from your questions about the sound of these guitars.