DjangoBooks.com

GJ guitar setups in the DC area?

gbartgbart Maryland,USANew
Hiya folks, just wondering if anyone knows of a good, reliable person to see in the DC area that knows enough about these guitars to do a setup.
The guitar in question is a Saga Gitane (Lulo model) that I purchased this past June. Im fairly new at this, the guitar sounds fine to me but would like to have a competant person have a look at it.
After reading some of these post I would prefer to have Josh Hegg do it but I cant seem to find the means to go on vacation to the NW US to bring it to him and I couldnt part w/it long enough to mail it;).
Thanks.

Comments

• Bob HoloBob Holo Moderator
    If it sounds fine and you can't find a good recommend - keep it the way it is till you can get to a festival close to you where you might be able to slip Rodrigo Shopuis or Michael Collins or Bernie Lehmann a bit of the green stuff to do the setup (I don't know if they do this or not, or whether they carry any tools with them to shows, but if you don't want to mail the guitar to the West Coast... it might be your best option and I think those three guys tend to go to the Northeast shows - Josh Hegg went to Django in June once... that would have been ideal)

Gypsy Jazz guitars are unique beasts and I've seen otherwise competent setup technicians do crazy things to them... like deepening the bridge slots >1mm (great for that fuzzy zither tone...) and even saw one "slot" the zero fret. Wow! I heard of one guy who had his guitar setup... the tech lowered the action way down and then moved the mustaches to match the bridge and now the guitar has the mustaches in the wrong position!! (which acoustically doesn't matter but looks like crap when setup to the proper action)

Not to put the fear of God in ya... but I'm glad you're looking for someone with experience with these instruments.
    You get one chance to enjoy this day, but if you're doing it right, that's enough.