DjangoBooks.com

Gypsy Fakebooks?

chip3174chip3174 New
edited May 2007 in Repertoire Posts: 135
Hello all,

I'm new to the style but I have been playing bop/swing based jazz for about 13 years. Is there a collection of gypsy tunes that are in the fakebook format as in the Real Books? So far I have only been able to find a handful of gypsy tunes.

Any advice is appreciated.

Wonderful site and wonderful forum!

Comments

• BluesBop HarryBluesBop Harry Mexico city, MexicoVirtuoso
    Try "The Gig book"
    It's pretty good, the only things I don't like are that for the melody there's only tab, there's a lot of ii-V's in place of just the V and there are some minor mistakes here and there.
    Still there's like 80 tunes in there! Chances are you'll find the ones you need. The chord charts work and you can figure out the melodies from the records.
    For songs that Django wrote try "The Ultimate Django book"
  • chip3174chip3174 New
    Hey much thanks, I'll check those books out. Are they available on Amazon, or maybe this site? I'll take a look now.

Chip
  • MichaelHorowitzMichaelHorowitz SeattleAdministrator
    The GIG book is currently out of print.

The Complete Django

Is that book done in a fakebook style? I see it has tab, but are the tunes printed on one or two pages for easy reading during gigs--or do they take up several pages?

Are there any books (beyond the Gig Book) like chip asked about? I'd love to find something in a standard notation fakebook format.
    The Complete Django is more or less in a real book format. Some of the more complicated tunes require page turns. But in general it's pretty easy to read on the gig. Of the larger collections, it's by far the most authentic in terms of chords and fingerings.