DjangoBooks.com

Django's timing

edited May 2018 in Licks and Patterns Posts: 4,723
Hey,

what I'm wondering is, did anyone do an in-depth study of strictly the timing in his playing? Been thinking about how would it sound if I studied only this aspect of his playing and use whatever boring notes I'd play and what would be the result? Did anybody ever do that? How did it sound?
Occasionally I did that with some licks but never extensively.

Like today I've been listening to his solo over Honeysuckle Rose (I'm guessing the classic '37 recording) and like a lot of his solos it's a masterpiece in not only the note choices but maybe even more importantly, his timing. Like how he's forming the clusters of phrases and puts them next to each other in context and each one sounds fresh and different and so awesome and together they're exhilarating.

So, anybody?
Every note wants to go somewhere-Kurt Rosenwinkel
Boneswim

Comments

• BonesBones Moderator
    Really good point Buco. I've always been amazed at his timing or phrasing or whatever you call it. I'll try to come up with an example but he can play the same basic phrase but change it up just slightly and it sounds completely different.
  • geese_comgeese_com Madison, WINew 503
    I think Ben Givan touches on Django's timing in his book.
    Buco
  • BentBent New
    His timing was extremely accurate. Even at the highest speeds and considering that he sometimes played several downstrokes in a row his timing was incredibly accurate... Just listen to his minor blues solo. There is this famous C-6 arpeggio he plays in the beginning of the solo. The picking pattern is extremely irregular but nevertheless he nails it like nobody else...