DjangoBooks.com

String question from a newbie.

Hello all.
I am new to Gypsy Jazz and just bought a second hand Cigano GJ5. The strings it came with were awful - dirty and rusty, so immediately I put a set of D'Addario 11's on and it sounds great.

I will try sets of Argentines or Pearse to see what difference/improvement in tone they will make, but my question is, is it advisable or not to use a string cleaning product such as Fast Fret to prolong the string life?

I am a pro guitarist and am changing electric and acoustic strings after every 2 or three gigs and that's expensive already, hence my question. I'd be grateful for your views. Thanks.

Comments

• crookedpinkycrookedpinky Glasgow✭✭✭✭ Alex Bishop D Hole, Altamira M & JWC D hole
    The big issue with Argies - or at least it was - was the fact that the G string in particular used to cut through the external winding quite quickly. To be honest Fast Fret won't help that much in my opinion although I use it and another product called Finger Ease but that's mainly to cut down finger noise. I'm sure others will chip in with their opinions but at least part of the problem comes from your own technique, how often you play and for how long and, I suspect, the frets on the guitar. When I started I was going through Argies very quickly but now I think Argies have improved in terms of quality and a set of them will last up to a month depending on how often I play the guitar. There was another make called Phillipe Bosset which were definitely an improvement on the logevity front but, for me, only Argies have "that" sound.
    always learning
    I keep strings for a while, couple of months at least (1-2 hours of playing time a day on average) and don't mind, even prefer the sound of older strings.
    Older strings give me good attack with a quick decay.
    I've been using Pearse lately, they have a nice balance of overtones vs a fundamental sound, but I try a lot of different strings.