DjangoBooks.com

Finding my way back to Gypsy Jazz

montemonte
in Welcome Posts: 23
Hi All
I started learning GJ in 2015 but had to abandon my lessons due to family life pressures. Anyway...I have gotten the bug to play again and find that I will have some time on my hands to play. I have a Manouche Latcho Drom by Dell Arte D-hole arriving tomorrow and am exited again. Last time I was fortunate enough to be able to take lessons; this time I think I will have to rely on books and videos. If anyone can make some suggestions, I would appreciate it. I don't mind paying for online lessons. Also, I would love to find others to get together with. If anyone is near Staten Island NY and doesn't mind jamming with a newbie, I would also appreciate that.

Thanks in advance and hope to be part of the community again.

Monte
BucoDavid LawrenceJosechiky

Comments

• dennisdennis Montreal, QuebecModerator
    edited April 2017 Posts: 2,161
    Go to the jam sessions in New Jersey and New York! It's the best way to learn. Books and videos and all that stuff are fun and can be useful, but nothing beats being part of a community. I own an actual online business dedicated to learning Gypsy Jazz, and I'm saying this because it's the truth!
    AndrewUlleJosechiky
  • edited April 2017 Posts: 4,737
    Welcome back!

If you have 2 minutes a day to practice take it and make use of it. And when I say 2 minutes I really mean 2 minutes.
    Go through a song progression, go through a scale, figure out inversion of a chord... do one thing with those 2 minutes.
    You need to decide exactly what are you going to do prior to picking up the guitar though.
    It may not do a heck of a lot for your playing but it's can do a lot for your attitude and state of mind.
    Plus you'll be surprised how many times you'll pick up a guitar to use those 2 minutes but end up spending 30 or more.