DjangoBooks.com

The ideal instruction book for beginners?

andyandy New
edited January 2005 in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 80
Hey folks,

What would the perfect instructional book look like? An instructional book, for the sake of argument, that was based in Django’s playing rather than more contemporary practitioners of Gypsy Jazz.

I ask, because over the past year I’ve been trying to get started in this style, I’ve brought practically everything there is on the market. The most valuable lesson I’ve been taught is that there’s no golden bullet, and you have to work hard and practice often. Nonetheless, some books are better than others, so I’ve stitched together a Frankenstein’s monster of what I consider the best bits to offer an absolute beginner like me.

By the way -- I’m not trying to be controversial, only conversational, and I have the greatest respect for anyone who's putting their stuff out there, often for very small financial rewards.

Here’s what mine would look like.

Introduction
Django in the place of jazz music. His legacy. Something like the introductory articles in Acoustic Guitar magazine’s ‘Private Lesson’ series, or a short piece by Michael Dregni. Includes abbreviated discography.

Part One: Chords and Accompaniment
i. ‘Basic’ Chords: Diagrams from Colin Cosimini’s 'The Gypsy Jazz Chord Book', and Charlton Johnson, 'Swing and Big Band Guitar' (Ok, not a GJG book, but someone recommended it on the Yahoo group, and it’s an excellent introduction to 4 to the bar comping, and three note chords that really clicked with me).
ii. ‘Advanced’ Chords: All those chords that use the thumb, or a painful little third-finger barres, taken from (amongst others) Romane’s 'L’Espirit Manouche', Angelo Debarre’s 'Gypsy Jazz: The Secrets', and Wrembel’s 'Getting Into Gypsy Jazz'. Discussion of the different applications and various merits of these two sets of chords.