DjangoBooks.com

Tips on transcribing Jazz standard into Gypsy Jazz style?

AndhiPAndhiP New
in Gypsy Jazz 101 Posts: 7
Hello! I'm Andhi from Indonesia. I've played guitar for 3 years, and just had interest in playing Gypsy Jazz since last year. I'm fairly new to playing the genre, but I've listened to Django Reinhardt's songs for quite some times. Currently, I have no GJ-suited guitar here because no guitar shop/luthier sells one as of now.

Anyway, I wanted to play a Jazz standard that I liked, which is John Coltrane's "Moment's Notice". So far I've only found one video of a quartet (or trio, can't remember) playing it in Gypsy Jazz style. Compared to how I tried to play it, the rhythm guitarist seem to be able to play the song so easily and with chord shapes that are not very complex.

How can I play the chords of a standard without making things complex?

I've heard that it is okay to replace chords voicing. For example, if it's written, say, a Gmaj7 on a standard, I may replace the 7th voicing into the 6th -- therefore, turning it into Gmaj6, to make it more GJ-ish and easier for the fingering.

Are there any other tips that I can use to help me play any standards I liked?

(p.s. It's quite impossible for me to find a mate to play with on Gypsy Jazz style, so try not to come here if that's your goal hahaha)

Comments

• T1mothyT1mothy ✭✭ Furch petite bouche
    Keep in mind that you can play your music with double bass and piano instead of the rhythm guitarist. The sound Django gets here with the quartet is pretty nice but would work without the drums too.

Regarding the voicings, those are your options to choose from. I like to make a major chord sound 9ish, 7ish, 6ish. I also like adding 6th to a dominant 7th chord making it sound 13ish. Anything goes. See for yourself what sounds you like :-)

• AndhiPAndhiP New
    T1mothy wrote: »