DjangoBooks.com

Any Gipsy Jazz/Manouche players from Portugal?

André Luz CostaAndré Luz Costa New Electric: Schecter Hellraiser - Classical: Eko Studio L
in Welcome Posts: 3
I'm André, i live near Porto and i'm a beginner in the genre, looking for other people who plays or share interest in this kind of music. Gipsy Jazz seems to be almost unknown in Portugal. Recently i went to Oslo to see Angelo Debarre and Dorato Schmitt at the Django festival there, so i'm really looking forward to jam with someone and learn as much as i can about it. Cheers

Comments

• BillDaCostaWilliamsBillDaCostaWilliams Barreiro, Portugal✭✭✭ Mateos, Altamira M01F, Huttl
    You are right that there doesn’t appear to be much gypsy jazz activity in Portugal despite considerable involvement in other areas of jazz. There was one guy who was invited up to join in with Paulus Schafer for 2 tunes when his trio played in the 2015 Seixal Jazz festival – didn’t catch his name at the time, though. Haven’t come across anybody else.

I don’t get up to Porto very often but if you are down Lisbon/Setúbal way let me know – looks like a friend and I will have regular sessions playing gypsy jazz and Cape Verdian music and you would be welcome to join in. We are also pretty new to g.j. although we have played other styles for some years.
    André Luz Costa
  • Moving to Lagoa, Algarve next week. Leaving behind my band Metroswing and regular gigs. Samois regular, looking to gig, jam, teach.
    André Luz Costa
  • André Luz CostaAndré Luz Costa New Electric: Schecter Hellraiser - Classical: Eko Studio L
    You are right that there doesn’t appear to be much gypsy jazz activity in Portugal despite considerable involvement in other areas of jazz. There was one guy who was invited up to join in with Paulus Schafer for 2 tunes when his trio played in the 2015 Seixal Jazz festival – didn’t catch his name at the time, though. Haven’t come across anybody else.