DjangoBooks.com

Hi my fingers hurt

I've enjoyed lurking on this forum for a while. This is my first post.
I started playing in April - not GJ guitar. Guitar. Mid-life crisis I suspect - it was either a guitar or a Triumph Bonneville. So I bought a Seagull S6.
Not sure how it got started but I've been downloading and soaking in GJ music for months. In October I drove to ****'s shop in Laguna because he had guitars to play and it was a drivable distance and after playing a few guitars I bought a Manouche Latcho Drom oval hole. It's probably the prettiest thing I've ever owned and I adore the personality of the sound.
But! The frets seem high. Not rough, and they're not sticking out over edges. They just seem high. (And they are certainly higher than the frets on my Seagull). It doesn't really bother me while I'm practicing, but afterward my fingertips are often, well, more sore than I think they ought to be (sniffle).
So I'm considering getting the frets filed to lower them. If anyone has thoughts, insights, advice for talking to the tech, etc. it would be much appreciated.
One other thing that may or may not be related: The winding has broken on Argentine G strings twice - the strings don't break, just the winding. Is that common?

Comments

• AndrewUlleAndrewUlle Cleveland, OH✭✭✭ Cigano GJ-15
    The windings on GJ G strings are very thin, and the damage you describe is common (as I recently found out being a new player in this genre). I had similar damage after just a couple hours' playing; I replaced the G with 0.024W electric guitar string (all I could get my hands on here), and that held up. I guess the silver plated copper is softer than the nickel- steel electric strings. Search the forum for several threads on this very topic.

As far as fret size goes, I've found that the higher frets on my a Dell Arte make fretting easier, at least compared to the worn out frets on my Gibson J-45.