DjangoBooks.com

Larger sound hole petite bouche models

Some petite bouche models like Di Mauro Jazz 2 have a larger sound hole, are there other brand guitars of the type with that feature? Does it make it louder??

Comments

• Joli GadjoJoli Gadjo Cardiff, UK✭✭✭✭ Derecho, Bumgarner - VSOP, AJL
    edited October 2014 Posts: 542
    I dont know about new guitars, but doesn't Bucolo has models featuring larger sound hole? I doubt it makes it louder, but it's certainly easier for you to hear yourself!
    - JG
  • BarkonatorBarkonator Medina, OH✭✭ Mazaud - Vieux Paris
    I know that the Mazaud Vieux Paris has a larger sound hole. Michael has one for sale right now. In his write up he says that it provides "improved bass response."

I am still learning how to make mine talk, but I love the tone. It was a real treat to hear some much more experienced players play it at Django in June this year. @MaximusVolumus is playing it in this video.

MaximusVolumus
  • Craig BumgarnerCraig Bumgarner Drayden, MarylandVirtuoso Bumgarner S/N 001
    Right, the size of the sound hole doesn't seem to affect the volume of the audience hears. A larger sound hole, however, will seem louder with more bass to the player.

My opinion is the sound the player hears should be close to what the listener hears, so, too big or too small for that matter is not so good.

Somewhere in the middle seems a good compromise. I've been occasionally making my small oval sound holes, when I use one, 10mm longer and wider., but honestly, i don't hear a lot of difference compared to the size Selmer used. The Castellucia size D hole is a good compromise between a small oval and a big D.
    BucoMichaelHorowitzJim Kaznosky