DjangoBooks.com

Difficulty stretching for certain chords

KJTKJT West Bromwich, UKNew
in Technique Posts: 4
Hello

Can I just say first, I havent used forums often and I hope its ok starting this discussion, I apologise in advance if the topic has already been discussed (I have searched) and also for my spelling :).

I am new to this style of playing, my previous experience was more of open chords or a few simple barre chords but I heard this style live for the first time in July 14 ( Remi Harris) and I became sort of addicted :).

I am tinkering with Minor Swing & Blues en Mineur all great fun but I looked at All of me recently and the last few barres I play the F, Fm, E and the F and the E are (for want of a better word) killing me. For the F, I play 5x356x and E 4x245x. I have sat and practiced this stretch for about 4 weeks, and I am very hit and miss. Any advice please, do I just keeping going at it ( I think it sounds nice, when I get it right or am I going about it wrong. I was thinking of leaving it for a bit and work something else I think I was advised Dark Eyes is ok for beginner?

Thank you for listening
Kev

Comments

• PetrovPetrov ✭✭
    It was the same for me at first. On top of that I have small hands. Just keep at it and it will come eventually.

What i did was fret the chord, take my hands off, fret chord again and on...until it becomes second nature like a open E for example.

Now using my thumb for chords is a different story....
  • KJTKJT West Bromwich, UKNew
    Thank you Petrov and Stuart

Just sat down with guitar for few minutes and looking at how I was doing things (think I got my Fm6 wrong too :( haha). Will stick at All of me, what you said made good sense to me :)

Will also try the fretting then removing hands and refretting, bit of a hand excercise :).

Thank you very much, I am enjoying the gyspy jazz experience very much.