DjangoBooks.com

Which Django Era?

Comments

• Charles MeadowsCharles Meadows WV✭✭✭ ALD Original, Dupont MD50
    What would be a good example of Django 40-45? I assume Stochelo would be in the group with Fapy?
  • I think Stochelo's playing has evolved a fair bit particularly over the past several years.

To my ear he is really getting his own voice now.
    The Magic really starts to happen when you can play it with your eyes closed
  • Charles MeadowsCharles Meadows WV✭✭✭ ALD Original, Dupont MD50
    Very true. And I am pretty new to this so take me with a grain of salt! I would guess that the classic Rosenberg stuff, like North Sea Jazz and Live at Samois would be "early" Django style (albeit with panache)? Thanks.
  • Teddy DupontTeddy Dupont Deity
    Stochelo is definitely pre-war Django in spirit and Boulou is in a different world altogether. Boulou is a gypsy playing jazz orientated music. He does not play gypsy jazz and has not done so for many years - if he ever really did. I think he would be upset if you said that was his style.

To me, the inclusion of a violin in the line-up tends to give it a pre-war Django feel regardless of how the guitarist actually plays (eg Bireli). That is the ambient usually created by that combination of guitar and violin.
  • I don't find the stuff that Stochelo does with Tommy Emmanuel or some others is early Django at all.

Rosenberg Trio is with some exceptions in the GJ tradition.
  • MatteoMatteo Sweden✭✭✭✭ JWC Modele Jazz, Lottonen "Selmer-Maccaferri"
    I love it all but I don't listen to everything all the time. I tend to get immersed in certain periods at certain points. I don't know how the 1937 + 1946-47 thing happened. I guess that I discovered, or re-discovered, recordings that I hadn't listened much to earlier. So they sounded very fresh to my ears. I voted for 1940-1946 again.
  • Dario NapoliDario Napoli Milano✭✭✭✭ Hahl Gitano Deluxe