DjangoBooks.com

Wow, my fingers hurt

steteaksteteak Kern County, California Paris Swing
edited December 2013 in Gypsy Rhythm Posts: 50
Hello every one. While this might not be a discussion group for the book that I am studying, I know someone can relate. I recently bought "The Gypsy Swing as Played By the Masters," by Roux and Daussat from djangobooks.com. When it arrived, I quickly opened the box. Eager to dive into the lessons, I downloaded the file into iTunes and saved it to my iPad. While the accompanying CD played in the background, I skimmed through the material. After giving the book a once-over, I began the first lesson, which after a bit of practice was rapidly accomplished. I am not boasting, I'm just stating the first lesson was rather simple with some unfamiliar fingerings. This evening after I practiced the first lesson again and regained my experience all my confidence was shattered, when I began the next lesson.

In the second lesson there is a short progression with chords that were very difficult for my brain to signal my fingers where to go within my time keeping. So, I slowed it down. For a couple hours I slowed my rhythm to a crawl. After the slow and steady pace, I was at the point of sheer agony of pain and lack of coordination from fatigue in my pinky and ring finger that I regrettfully had to put my instrument down (normally I play for four to six hours an evening with the only symptom being mentally tired). I wondered if I wasted time by practicing one thing for so long.

I hope that I did not lose any one with my longwindedness, but I had to set up my question.